Because Everyone Deserves to Have a Bucket List…

 

I must have reached a turning point in my blogging recently because I’m suddenly finding myself following the blogs of people I’ve never met before. I’m not only concerned with keeping my friends and family updated on my travels abroad, but with freshly pressed headlines and photos as well.

To my surprise, bucket lists have been catching my attention. It all started with a fabulous blog post entitled “dirty thirty.” This young woman counting down her days as a twenty-something-year-old made me realize that I too am fast approaching this renowned fork in the road. As a newly turned 26-year-old, who’s not entirely satisfied with life-as-she-knows-it, I started thinking about what my own list would look like.

Bucket lists, I’ve learned, are not just for retired folks or adrenalin junkies. They are for everyone and anyone who has dreams, goals, desires and priorities. The timeline only matters to you, so whether you want to have a certain experience before you die or accomplish something before your next birthday, a bucket list is there to help you make it happen.

I admit my primary motive for creating a bucket list (my first ever, in fact) comes from a slightly sad, self-pitying place. However, this bucket list may be exactly what I need to lift myself out of the hole I seem to have dug beneath my feet.

It was a bit too cliché for me to list everything I want to do in my life, so I decided to narrow my focus to the next four years. I’ve realized that my life is easily divided into four-year segments: Hinesburg school, Waldorf, high school, university, and now it’s been four years since graduation. I figured it would be best to keep with the trend and set my deadline at another four years for now, when I will turn 30. It was also important to me that the things on my bucket list be critical to helping me rediscover my self-worth and happiness (because if I’m not happy with my life by the time I’m 30, I might be screwed).

So here they are, in no particular order, the 30 things I must do before I’m 30:

1. Earn a Masters degree

2. Learn to cook

3. Be in love (everyday)

4. Hike to Everest Base camp

5. Take tennis lessons

6. Dive in the Galapagos Island

7. See a whale shark

8. Join a book club

9. Learn to rock climb

10. Travel by train through Europe

11. Dive with Great Whites in South Africa

12. See a Lemur in the wild

13. Go on a yoga retreat in India

14. Discover my roots in Israel

15. Live in a new city

16. Learn to ride a bike (well)

17. Find a winter sport that I like

18. Help someone have a better life

19. Try food I’ve never heard of

20. Realize my dream job

21. Learn Spanish

22. Go on a romantic getaway in Paris

23. Complete every scrapbook I’ve ever started

24. Get published

25. Become a true local-vore

26. Lose myself at Bonnaroo

27. Figure out how to love someone, for better or for worse

28. Be a better sister

29. Write, call and visit friends more often

30. Be a better wife

I realize this list gives away quite a few personal things about me. No, I still don’t know how to ride a bike or cook without a cookbook. Nor do I pride myself on always being the best wife, friend, sister or daughter. And yes, I still have some things to get out of my system, like one last crazy music festival and a life-threatening stunt beneath the sea. The good news is, with some luck I’ll actually be able to cross several of these things off my list after this year of “catching goats” with my husband.

So stay tuned, as I trust each one will make for an interesting experience worth sharing.

20120807-142938.jpg
Card courtesy of MM. Meg, Thank you for your words of encouragement when I needed them most and for so thoughtfully thinking ahead. 

