Whoever said “Time Stands Still”?

…has obviously not been to Cochabamba.

I feel like I only blinked once before this week was over. Since last night, as Jeremy and I treated ourselves to cheesecake by candlelight at CasaBlanca, I’ve been struggling to recall the details that define the last 168 hours of our lives.

Maybe it has something to do with being in the southern hemisphere. Does time go by faster down here?? Or am I just having too much fun, I can’t remember a thing!? Aside from our daily routine* that propels us through most days, we’ve really just been getting to know (here comes a shout out) the incredible people of Sustainable Bolivia. With all the shared dinners, soccer games, movie marathons, game nights, craft fairs, sunday markets, sunbathing, shopping, goodbye parties, welcome parties, bar hopping and 5am discotec-ing, I’d say we’re all starting to feel a bit cozy with each other (or maybe that’s just the morning after feeling of Pimienta).

20120813-224709.jpg

I suppose in the long run the details aren’t all that important. What I will take with me from this week is the comfort of knowing I’m with great people in a great town. I will always be amazed and humbled by how people from completely different ends of the earth can come together under a single roof and find something unforgettably in common.

As this week is shaping up to be nonstop as well – with the Qkrupina festival, poker night at our place, and lots of prepping to do for our first research trip to Lake Titicaca – I’ll be sure to keep one finger on the pause button and fully appreciate the moments as they pass.

*Our daily routine:
Our lives here are best defined by the meals that dictate our schedule. At 7:45 we wake up. Desayuno = pan, queso and instant coffee. At 8:30 we begin the thirty minute walk to “work.” By 1:00 we’re sitting around the table again. Almuerzo = more carne than thought physically possible to consume followed by a piece of fruit for dessert. at 1:30 there’s time for a quick siesta. Then we’re off to catch a trufi to the SB house for Spanish lessons by 2:30. At 5:30 the sun is setting and we’re on our way home again to find our usual seats. Cena = more pan, more queso, more instant coffee. If nothing else is going on, we usually settle into bed with books or homework by 9 o’clock. Asleep by midnight, ready for another day of carne, pan, and queso. Yummmm….

20120813-224717.jpg
Featured photo courtesy of Jonathan McCarthy.

